C950 MPFI - startup backfire through intake and AFR question.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • landshark99
    • Apr 2013

C950 MPFI - startup backfire through intake and AFR question.

I'm still learning the Commander 950 software and tuning in general, but learning fast ;).

Recently I switched to a larger air intake (round 2.5" tall instead of 2" tall), and adjusted my A/F ratio to compensate for the additional air. Truck runs pretty good, however, every now and then I get a small intake backfire and it struggles a bit when starting after warmup. Seems to happen more after the truck goes into closed loop.

Doing some reading it would seem I'm running lean when starting. My understanding is that I need to enrich the startup tables, however I was told it should be the last thing I do when tuning.

I don't want to damage the engine running too lean, however, I don't want to screw things up changing things I shouldn't. How do I tell if my A/F is good? Do I need to enrich the startup tables to compensate for the additional air? Anything else I should do or check to make sure I'm running a good A/F ratio?

I have the latest Holley Commander software, and I have a wideband O2 sensor. Thanks!
  • Danny Cabral
    Administrator
    • Dec 2009

Originally posted by landshark99 View Post
    Recently I switched to a larger air intake (round 2.5" tall instead of 2" tall), and adjusted my A/F ratio to compensate for the additional air.
    You don't adjust the air/fuel "ratio" to compensate for increased intake airflow.
    You increase the amount of fuel (cell values) to "maintain" the established air/fuel ratio.
    Perhaps you were just using the wrong terminology.

My understanding is that I need to enrich the startup tables, however I was told it should be the last thing I do when tuning.
    Correct. The Main Fuel Map must be well tuned before the Startup Enrichment parameters can be optimized.