Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Running A 144 "Dry"

Default Running A 144 "Dry"

I have the following question:
    Can I run a 144 on a multi-port intake without problems?
    Or should I place an extra injector(s) on top for cooling.
    The engine, a SBC, is going to be used on the street only, not for daily use but more as show car.
    Gertjan

Quote Originally Posted by Gertjan View Post
    Or should I place an extra injector(s) on top for cooling.
    I don't think so. I'm a Diesel Technician by profession, and we used to run Detroit Diesel 6V92 bus engines that have Roots blowers (positive displacement superchargers), fed by turbochargers bolted on top! The entire induction system is dry, because direct-injection places the fuel injectors in the cylinder head's combustion chamber. Furthermore, these high mileage, over-the-road engines are water intercooled after (under) the blower.

Modern day (OEM) blowers/screw type superchargers are multi-port fuel injected. Gasoline certainly isn't a lubricant, and the blower rotors don't contact each other anyway. (The gears & bearings are isolated/sealed in oil, in the end cases.) As far as cooling is concerned, a Roots blower does not compress the air inside the supercharger case. It's just an air pump. The compression of the inlet charge takes place in the manifold, intake ports and cylinders. Centrifugal & screw type superchargers are called "internal compression" superchargers because the air compression takes place inside the supercharger. Roots superchargers are "external compression" blowers because the air compression takes place outside of the supercharger.