Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IAC Erratic

Default IAC Erratic

OK guys, my IAC is acting erratic. Holley is looking over my datalog, but I just wanted to post it here for you guys to look at also (never hurts to have more then one mind). I've tried to do the IAC reset with the tape over the IAC and seemed to work, but the problem is after it runs for say about 45 minutes it starts to go crazy. I turned the car off and hit datalog and restarted the car and as you can see it was running great then the IAC went crazy. It could be RFI, but that's were I need your help. I'm new to the Sniper and how to look over the data, so any help would be great. Now here's what I've done to try and look for RFI. Moved wires as much as I can apart. All vacuum ports are closed off, nothing hooked to Sniper. Wires are 7mm suppression, but I'd change if need be. Spark plugs new ACDelco and gaped to factory specs, and boot grease on ends. The coil is not a new part so may change it too, but it's the closest thing to the back of the IAC (stock location). This is a non-timing control on a 327ci. The alternator is new and a 3-wire so no voltage regulator is being used and the wiring runs to the driver fenders and taped. If you guys can think of anything I left out, just ask.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Ensure the fuel injectors or spark plug wires (or any other high voltage wiring) aren't too close to the IAC motor/wiring.
    The IAC motor is easily susceptible to electrical interference, and it'll cause strange occurrences and become inoperable.
    May God's grace bless you in the Lord Jesus Christ.