Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ignition Advice

Default Ignition Advice

First off I want to thank you guys for all your comments to other questions I'm having. Moving to EFI has made me a bit nervous since I have zero experience. You guys have helped me get past that.

I'm building a 421 SBC (Non LSx) and my engine builder suggested we go with the HP EFI MPFI. Originally we were looking at a Sniper, but I think the HP EFI system will allow me to grow down the road and allow more flexibility. (Thanks Danny for helping with this choice.) I'm told this engine should be making about 700 HP N/A and I plan to use it mainly on the street, but maybe do some autocross.

My next question is ignition. Engine builder was pushing the MSD 8360 distributor at first. We're not going to worry about timing control from the EFI (trying not to complicate too much). From my research on this forum it does not look like the 8360 will work with the HP EFI system. Please correct me if I'm wrong, and I'm waiting for an answer from Holley Tech.

After a bit more research I'm looking at a Dual Sync Distributor. From the looks of the Dual Sync, it's Plug & Play in the HP EFI harness and will give me Cam & Crank sensors, so I can use true sequential MPFI. However, it does look like the Dual Sync will require a CD box, which I'm not apposed to, but I'm having a hard time trying to find which CD box would be recommended.

I do have more questions about the Dual Sync setup, but I wanted to see what you guys recommend for my application/setup. Thanks in advance, Mike

Quote Originally Posted by MikeP View Post
    Engine builder was pushing the MSD 8360 distributor at first. We're not going to worry about timing control from the EFI (trying not to complicate too much).
    After a bit more research I'm looking at a Dual Sync Distributor. From the looks of the Dual Sync, it's Plug & Play in the HP EFI harness and will give me Cam & Crank sensors, so I can use true sequential MPFI.