Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Injectors not firing sometimes during engine cranking, both cold & hot starts.

Default Injectors not firing sometimes during engine cranking, both cold & hot starts.

I've been running the Dominator on my car for two years with no issues. The car sat for a year while I did some interior work. Currently, the car will sometimes fire right up after a few seconds of cranking, but sometimes it will crank until the battery goes dead with no start. I've narrowed it down to the injectors not firing using a noid light on my injector plug. I have spark and I'm seeing cranking RPM (approximately 125 RPM or so) on my laptop. All sensor inputs are showing valid real-time readings. The software seems to be fine. I'm running V4 software. I'm baffled, how can the car start right up sometimes and other times the car won't start because the injectors are not firing? Sometimes I will try to start it 3 or 4 times with no injector firing, then on the very next try, it fires right up? Any ideas? I'm going to recheck all my grounds, then if all else fails, I will pull the harness out and check all the wires to make sure nothing looks shady. I could see a wiring issue if the car would never start, but how can this issue be intermittent? This happens sometimes when the car is cold and when it is hot. Once the engine is running though, it runs great and never stalls or misses a beat?

I highly suggest recording & reviewing a datalog of this no start occurrence.

Originally Posted by Danny Cabral
    Quick Datalogger Information:
    Always provide data, not just symptoms. Is the AFR & ignition timing optimized? Overlay the datalog onto your Global File.
    Ensure the Target A/F Ratio table is properly programmed for your engine. Ensure the ECU is "Learning" (Learn Table LINK).
    Scroll through the datalog to the problem area. Then look exactly where this happens on the Base Fuel & Timing Tables. Scrutinize: