Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Won't Start-Fuel PSI drops to Zero with Key ON

Default Won't Start-Fuel PSI drops to Zero with Key ON

Hi Everyone,

I have put 135 miles of on the engine/atomic EFI/msd fuel system with no issues until this afternoon. I am running the Atomic with timing control and MSD fuel system PN2926, the car sputtered as I left my neighborhood then shut off and would not restart.

Checked for spark and it was present, starter engages, however noticed my fuel pressure go up to 68 psi which is normal, then drop fairly quickly all the way down to zero with the key in the ON position. I already reset the atomic to defaults and re-entered the settings which I have been running successfully for many months. The fuel pump pressure still drops fairly quickly.

My first guess if the fuel pump went bad (but in only 135 miles?). Or the atomic which controls the fuel pump may not be sending the correct signal to the fuel pump? My system is a very early Atomic and has the most current update. Can anyone help with this?

Thank You

Armando

The fuel pressure dropping to zero a few seconds after turning the key on with the engine not running is not the reason your car stopped or will not start. When turning the key on, the fuel pump runs for a few seconds, but if it does not get the tach signal the pump turns off. Some people say the pressure drops slowly but my fuel pressure drops to zero pretty quick, this could be the check valve in the fuel pump, my car runs great so I am not concerned.

You have not mentioned what your setup is, returnless, Atomic controlling ignition, FW versions, etc..

But have you checked the screw has not loosened on the MSD adjustable rotor, if you have one? This is the most common cause for the splutter and stopping, I had the same thing.

Let us know your setup and good luck..

I am running the following:

-PWM with regulator (return fuel line)

-Timing Control Enabled

-All of the 9/25/14 released firmware