Thread: Carb only starts after dumping fuel.

1fastmofo Guest

Default Carb only starts after dumping fuel.

This is my first attempt at rebuilding a carb. Got the accelerator pump working when I pull off the bowl, but I'm not seeming to get fuel to squirt into the actual body of the carb. once I dump fuel in it it will idle at about 1300-1500 no lower. I am extremely agitated, any help is greatly appreciated. BTW, the carb is a 600 cfm electric choke. I purchased a complete rebuild kit cleaned the primary jets, set the float levels and replaced the gaskets. I'm not fully sure what the valve body on the front bowls job is. Any help is appreciated thanks.
    Last edited by 1fastmofo; 09-05-2012 at 06:30 PM.

Ryan Guest

I know this is an old post but I was having similar problems with my 670 DF 4150 vacc secnd. I finally figured out after I rejetted it some how I jammed up the discharge nozzle weight/needle. This tiny weight is underneath the discharge nozzle/squirter. So I took very fine grit sand paper to it and rubbed all burs off and bingo my Stang would start again. As for the high idle I too am trying figured that out too. Mine not that bad though, only about 900 rpm and my car misses at idle and after accelerator pump then clears out.
    Last edited by Ryan; 12-16-2012 at 10:05 PM.

Look for vacuum leaks and watch these videos that apply to your dilemma:
    http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL353239D6A7D7BFF0
    May God's grace bless you in the Lord Jesus Christ.