Thread: How does the self-tuning respond to engine problems?

Default How does the self-tuning respond to engine problems?

I have a '71 Mustang 302. My Holley 4 barrel needs rebuilt, so I'm using that as an excuse to buy the Sniper EFI. The problem I'm having is that my engine needs to warm up to at least 160°F or it bogs out when I put it in gear. If there's a vacuum leak I can't find it. If I install the Sniper EFI before I get it figured out, how will it react to this problem? Will it be able to do it's thing and self-tune, or should I get it figured out before I install the EFI unit. This will be my first EFI, so I'm a newbie here.

As I always say, the engine must be in proper working order to install any aftermarket EFI system.
    (I assume you're just being funny with your username. If not, I'd think twice before converting to EFI.)
    May God's grace bless you in the Lord Jesus Christ.
    '92 Ford Mustang GT: 385" SBF, Dart SHP 8.2 block, TFS TW 11R 205 heads, 11.8:1 comp, TFS R-Series intake, Dominator MPFI & DIS, 36-1 crank trigger/1x cam sync, 160A 3G alternator, Optima Red battery, A/C, 100HP progressive dry direct-port NOS, Spal dual 12" fans/3-core Frostbite aluminum radiator, Pypes dual 2.5" exhaust/off-road X-pipe/shorty headers, S&W subframe connectors, LenTech Strip Terminator wide-ratio AOD/2800 RPM converter, M4602G aluminum driveshaft, FRPP 3.31 gears, Cobra Trac-Lok differential, Moser 31 spline axles, '04 Cobra 4-disc brakes, '93 Cobra booster & M/C, 5-lug Bullitt wheels & 245/45R17 tires.

Did you ever stop to think it may be the carb that's the problem, and by switching to EFI, it may fix the problem? Just a thought.

Yeah, I thought of that too. Especially since he claims it bogs down until the engine reaches 160°F (probably too lean).
    May God's grace bless you in the Lord Jesus Christ.