Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 550-400 - I think my ECU might have fried.

Default 550-400 - I think my ECU might have fried.

Hello Forum members. This is my first post, I'm a 50 year old Italian living in South Africa since 3 years of age.
    I love my 4x4ing, mostly fabrication, and am well equipped tooling wise at home, lathe, mill, tig, mig etc.
    I studied electronic engineering after graduating school, but honestly never really used it that much.
    I own my own graphic design company which is my primary source of income.
    Back in 2012 I imported a Holley Avenger 550-400 for my 400 cube CJ-7.
    There is zero support on this product locally, and any spares required is purely direct import and hope what you get is good.
    Unit has run for years problem free, small cap Chevy HEI distributor so timing is fully electronically controlled.
    2 months back I get a bad stumble just off idle, developed into a bad miss, and then intermittent stall once hot just off idle.
    You can hear the fuel pump relay powering off and then back on again in a matter of milliseconds,
    but by then she's stalled and you need to restart, which takes a fair bit of cranking before she starts up with a cough and a spit.
    I replaced everything I could electrically, new HT leads, new ignition barrel, all new relays, new spark plugs,
    new complete distributor with new module & hall coil, new fuel pump and wiring, even changed the timing chain and gears 'just in case'.

I even bypassed all the vehicle electrical by wiring coil, ECU and related hardware directly to battery via a mechanical switch as my
    ignition, and she seemed to work fine for a few weeks, until today, where the stall and miss started all over again.
    Got home, parked in the garage and with the lights off raised the hood only to be met with a nice fat electrical spark discharge
    between the HT coil positive, negative and output terminal, nice blue hue.