Thread: Acceleration Problem - 4160 & 3/4" Spacer

Default Acceleration Problem - 4160 & 3/4" Spacer

Newbie here & sorry for being long winded. Hello, my name is Marvin & I'm having a little bit of acceleration/cutout problem while starting out from standing start. If I take it very slow it's OK, but if I give it more gas, it feels like it's getting too much gas & just for a short time, it cuts out for a second & then all is OK.

Vehicle is '68 Chevy C10, 305, 700R4, Holley 4160 with 3/4" spacer, manual choke, HEI distributor with Accel super coil #140003. Nothing fancy, just how it was bought. Past owner has "rigged" up the TV cable with bailing wire & a lot of slack in the cable. I do know that needs to be fixed, cause it goes through the gears real fast like 0-25, at that point it's in 4th. Don't know why the 3/4" spacer was installed, but first things first. I know, baby steps, right. Any help in the right direction will be appreciated. mjgord51

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TV hookup 001.jpg 
Views:	313 
Size:	93.0 KB 
ID:	1335

Normally this is an issue with your accelerator pump linkage and linkage cam setup. If there is any play in the linkage, it will not give a quick shot of fuel, and causes bogging/hesitation. Air reacts quicker then fuel can. This is the purpose of the accelerator pump. To provide a short pump of gas as you move the throttle. It gives fuel time to react to the air you are suddenly introducing, by opening the throttle blades. You need to get your accelerator pump linkage setup so that as you barely bump the throttle you see fuel coming out the pump nozzle. I wouldn't mess with the pump cams just yet. Get you linkage adjusted properly first then test.
    Below is a quick video on how to get that adjusted properly:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-Nx5HEzvlY