Thread: Power Valve Questions

Default Power Valve Questions

I'm new to Holley and just got a new 0-80555C, and I'm working on getting it setup right. I need to understand what exactly does the power valve do? I understand when the vacuum goes low enough, it allows more fuel to be used, but where is it entering? Does it have its own built in, for lack of better terms, its own "jets"? If not, what determines how much extra fuel it allows?

Also, I tend to either drive easy, hardly ever hit 1/4 throttle, or I go WOT through the gears. Would putting in a high flow PV that only opens under very low vacuum like a 2.5 work OK? Like I said, I really don't use most of the throttle range, so it wouldn't matter to me if I felt it "kick in", instead of a smooth acceleration from idle to WOT.

Thanks, Tony

I'm new to Holley and just got a new 0-80555C, and I'm working on getting it setup right. I need to understand what exactly does the power valve do?
    Power Valve = Add more fuel under heavy load and low vacuum situations. Without the power valve for typical street driving, you create an rich or lean condition. If you were to plug the power valve and do nothing else, you create a lean condition under high load low vacuum situation. If you plug the the PV and then put in larger main jets to compensate for it, your going to have a rich cruising condition.

I understand when the vacuum goes low enough, it allows more fuel to be used, but where is it entering?
    When the power valve open, it is adding extra fuel into the main wells on the metering block.

Does it have its own built in, for lack of better terms, its own "jets".
    Yes the PV has it own jets. They are called PVCRs (power valve channel restrictor). On standard Holley metering blocks they are not adjustable. They can be drilled out, tapped for 6-32 to make adjustable. (Not recommended) After market metering blocks already have them tapped and made to be adjustable.